CPanel, SSL and shared hosting. Today I Learned: 12 July 2022

  • Cpanel (Control Panel) is a tool used to manage a website. I’ve seen it before, but not with NameCheap. So who runs cpanel? To be honest, the cpanel UI is pretty outdated looking.

  • Shared Hosting means that multiple websites are hosted on a single server.

  • cPanel feature options ways to build a website:

    • Website Builder
      • For beginners, with drag & drop solutions.
    • Softaculous
      • for people with some prior technical knowledge.
    • FTP/SFTP
      • For people who have technical experience.
  • SSL stands for Secure Socket Layer. So far I know that it is used for encryption of data when visiting websites.

  • Positive SSL seems to be some sort of validation for simple websites. Looks like it is a product, unlike just SSL which seems to be a general term for the tech. From what I’ve read so far, it shouldn’t be used for more complex sites. I think I read somewhere that it only validates the domain name. Looks like it was created by a company called Comodo. I wonder how these companies make money from creating these things.

  • nginx popped up somewhere on namecheap, I still don’t know what it means.

Thanks for reading,
Niall Harrington